Politics is our DNA

Over 16 years of experience with government relations in Germany and the EU

CONCILIUS has a strong understanding of the mechanics of politics at all levels, far beyond what can be learned from the media. On the basis of our precise knowledge of political processes down to the depth of decision-making in our federal system, we develop individual strategies in close coordination with our clients. We provide well-founded and goal-oriented advice. From political analysis to operational implementation, we provide companies with a comprehensive portfolio of contact management, information and communication tools.

CONCILIUS was founded in 2003 and has been owner-operated ever since. The focus of our work is on Germany and the institutions of the European Union. With offices in Berlin, Düsseldorf, Frankfurt a.M., Hamburg, Munich and Stuttgart, we meet the challenges of the federal political system across the board. Our office in Brussels services clients on a European level.

Our approx. 30 consultants, analysts and policy strategists have many years of project experience. With comprehensive political, economic and scientific expertise, we work for clients from almost all industries.

Furthermore, we also integrate our senior advisers into our political solution strategies, whenever necessary. A pool of around 50 former high-ranking decision-makers from the legislative, executive and diplomatic areas provides our clients with access to specialized expertise and premium networks.

Who is behind CONCILIUS?

Senior Team

Roberto Fleissner

Partner & CEO

  • View profile

Roberto Fleissner

Partner & CEO

Roberto Fleissner has more than twenty years of experience in representing the political interests of companies. His work focuses on regulatory processes and the business-to-public sector. Before co-founding CONCILIUS in 2003, he was a policy consultant at the CSU headquarters and worked for several years in a medium-sized consulting company. As a member of the CSU, he was politically engaged for a long time at both local and state level. Roberto Fleissner studied political science in Munich.

 

VCard

Dr. Peter Bechstein

Partner & Chairman of the Supervisory Board

  • View profile

Dr. Peter Bechstein

Partner & Chairman of the Supervisory Board

Peter Bechstein has been working for CONCILIUS since 2006 and as a partner since 2011. He has extensive and long-standing expertise in regulatory issues, in particular with manufacturing companies. In addition, he advises clients from various sectors on the development of their public affairs strategies and crisis communication. Peter Bechstein spent several years in industry as head of human resources, legal affairs and corporate policy. He is a member of the CDU and has held various posts at district, county and state level. Peter Bechstein studied law and business administration in Tübingen and Freiburg im Breisgau.

 

VCard

Michael Donnermeyer

Member of the Executive Board

  • View profile

Michael Donnermeyer

Member of the Executive Board

Michael Donnermeyer is a member of the Executive Board and has been responsible primarily for climate and energy policy at CONCILIUS' Berlin office since 2015. In politics, he gained a wide range of experience across the entire spectrum of political communication. Respectively in leading positions, he was responsible for communications in the election campaigns of Gerhard Schröder (1998), Klaus Wowereit (2001) and Peer Steinbrück (2013). He headed the SPD press office, headed press and public relations at the Federal Ministry of Transport, Building and Urban Affairs, and served for six years as government spokesman for the Berlin state government for the governing mayor Klaus Wowereit. In 2008 he transitioned to the corporate world and has hence been intensively involved in climate and energy policy.

 

VCard

Guntram Dopfer

Member of the Executive Board

  • View profile

Guntram Dopfer

Member of the Executive Board

Guntram Dopfer initially joined CONCILIUS in 2005 as coordinator of the Executive Board, and has been a member of the Executive Board since 2009. In addition to his role as Key Account Manager, he is responsible for finance, human resources and infrastructure on the Executive Board. His most important professional stations were the activity as managing director for the JU (youth organization of the CSU) of Bavaria and communication adviser in the CSU party central office, as well as afterwards the establishment of a consulting firm, with which he engaged from 2001 to 2005 in numerous political election campaigns and marketing strategies. As a long-standing member of the JU and the CSU, Guntram Dopfer held various honorary posts, including the deputy state chair of the Junge Union Bayern for many years.

 

VCard

Sara-Rose Röthel

Partner & Member of the Executive Board

  • View profile

Sara-Rose Röthel

Partner & Member of the Executive Board

Sara-Rose Röthel joined CONCILIUS in 2006 and has been a member of the Executive Board since 2017. As a key account manager, her particular focus is on advising and supporting companies that either want to implement an innovative business model or want to enter the German market from scratch. This applies in particular to clients in the field of transport and mobility, including some of the most well-known, most disruptive companies. Among other things, she is an honorary member of the board of the Bundesverband Deutsche Startup e.V. (German Startup Association). Sara-Rose Röthel holds a degree in political science from the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in Munich.

 

VCard

Markus Russ

Member of the Management Board
Partner & CEO of CONCILIUS Europe sprl.

  • View profile

Markus Russ

Member of the Management Board |Partner & CEO of CONCILIUS Europe sprl.

Markus Russ has been a member of the Management Board of CONCILIUS AG since 2009 and a partner and CEO at CONCILIUS Europe sprl since 2012. Until 2009, Markus Russ was Head of the Brussels Liaison Office of Hanns-Seidel-Foundation. Since 2007 he has been involved as EU representative of Times-Media GmbH. He is also Senior Advisor of AmCham Germany (since 2012) and member of the Advisory Board of the Internationaler Wirtschaftssenat e.V. (since 2014). After his training as an officer of the German Federal Armed Forces, Markus Russ studied political and social sciences at the University of the German Federal Armed Forces in Munich and later "Management Consultant" at the AKW Wirtschaftsakademie in Bad Harzburg. In the course of his professional career with the Bundeswehr, he was, among other things, youth and press officer of the military district commandos and head of the Nuremberg office.

 

VCard

Brigitte von den Steinen

Member of the Executive Board

  • View profile

Brigitte von den Steinen

Member of the Executive Board

Brigitte von den Steinen joined CONCILIUS in 2008 after being Managing Director of a medium-sized consulting company. Since then she has focused her activities on foreign, security and defence policy. Brigitte von den Steinen is a trained industrial clerk and studied political science in Bonn via the 2nd educational path. After working for the Federal Minister of Economics - most recently in the Minister's office - she worked for various members of the German Bundestag as an office manager in the Finance, Budget and Defence Committee.

 

VCard

What values does CONCILIUS represent?

Quality and Compliance

The representation of interests towards politics and administration is an integral part of democratic processes. In the exercise of their profession, the employees of CONCILIUS AG respect and promote the principles of national legislation and international law, in particular the principles of freedom of expression, the right to information, the independence of the media and the protection of personal rights.

Integrity, compliance with the democratic rules of the game, respect for the basic democratic order and the separation of powers, as well as the independence of the judiciary are the prerequisites for any serious government relations work.

Code of conduct

Our employees guarantee compliance with the following principles in particular:

 

  • Truthfulness
  • Confidentiality and discretion
  • No influence through financial incentives
  • No discrimination
  • Respect in dealing with clients and colleagues
  • Clear separation between professional activity and political offices, functions, etc.

CONCILIUS is a member of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Politikberatung e.V. (de'ge'pol), the association of political consultants in Germany. In this context, every CONCILIUS employee has personally committed himself or herself to follow the de'ge'pol code of conduct. The complete document can be found here:

Code of conduct

Quality management

We see it as our responsibility towards our clients to ensure the quality of our services as well as the professional competence of our employees - and to continuously develop it further.

 

We attach particular importance to the:

  • Political expertise and communicative competence
  • Solution competence as a precondition of assignment acceptance
  • Independence, neutrality and integrity
  • Process orientation and optimization
  • Planning and project orientation
  • Information and documentation
  • Accurateness when accepting assignments

The complete catalogue of criteria for the quality control of de'ge'pol can be found here:

catalogue of criteria

100

 

Years of lobbying
experience in the management team

Expert teams for

15

Industrial sectors

2000

 

Completed
Projects

Politik ist unsere DNA

Über 16 Jahre Erfahrung mit Government Relations in Deutschland und der EU

CONCILIUS hat ein ausgeprägtes Verständnis für die Mechanik der Politik auf allen Ebenen weit über das hinaus, was in der medialen Öffentlichkeit zu erfahren ist. Auf Basis unserer genauen Kenntnis politischer Prozesse bis in die Tiefe der Entscheidungsfindung in unserem föderalen System entwickeln wir in enger Abstimmung mit unseren Mandaten individuelle Strategien. Wir beraten fundiert und zielorientiert. Von der politischen Analyse bis zur operativen Umsetzung stellen wir Unternehmen ein umfassendes Portfolio an Kontaktmanagement-, Informations- und Kommunikationswerkzeugen zur Verfügung.

CONCILIUS wurde 2003 gegründet und ist seither inhabergeführt. Der Fokus unserer Arbeit richtet sich auf Deutschland und die Institutionen der Europäischen Union. Mit Standorten in Berlin, Düsseldorf, Frankfurt a. M., Hamburg, München und Stuttgart begegnen wir flächendeckend den Herausforderungen des föderalen politischen Systems. Unser Büro in Brüssel begleitet Mandanten auf europäischer Ebene.

Die rund 30 Berater, Analysten und Politikstrategen von CONCILIUS verfügen über langjährige Projekterfahrungen. Mit umfassender politischer, wirtschaftlicher und wissenschaftlicher Expertise betreuen wir Mandanten aus nahezu allen Branchen.

Zudem binden wir bei Bedarf unsere Senior Advisor in unsere politischen Lösungsstrategien mit ein. Ein Expertenpool von etwa 50 ehemaligen hochrangigen Entscheidungsträgern aus Legislative, Exekutive sowie dem diplomatischen Umfeld verschafft unseren Mandanten Zugang zu spezialisierter Kompetenz und Premium-Netzwerken.

Wer steht hinter CONCILIUS?

Senior Team

Roberto Fleissner

Partner & Vorstandsvorsitzender

  • Profil ansehen

Roberto Fleissner

Partner & Vorstandsvorsitzender

Roberto Fleissner verfügt über mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Bereich der politischen Interessenvertretung der Industrie. Schwerpunkte seiner Tätigkeit sind dabei die Begleitung von regulatorischen Prozessen sowie die Unterstützung im Bereich „business-to-public sector“. Bevor er 2003 CONCILIUS mitgründete, war er 1998 als Grundsatzreferent in der CSU-Zentrale und mehrere Jahre in einem mittelständischen Beratungsunternehmen tätig. Als Mitglied der CSU engagierte er sich lange Zeit sowohl auf kommunaler als auch auf Landesebene. Roberto Fleissner absolvierte ein Studium der Politikwissenschaften in München.

VCard

Dr. Peter Bechstein

Partner & Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender

  • Profil ansehen

Dr. Peter Bechstein

Partner & Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender

Seit 2006 ist Peter Bechstein für CONCILIUS tätig, seit 2011 als Partner. Peter Bechstein verfügt über umfangreiche und langjährig erworbene Expertise bei regulatorischen Fragestellungen, insbesondere bei produzierenden Unternehmen. Zusätzlich berät er Mandanten bei der Erarbeitung ihrer Public-Affairs-Strategien sowie bei der Krisenkommunikation. Peter Bechstein war mehrere Jahre in der Industrie als Personalleiter sowie als Leiter Recht und Gesellschaftspolitik tätig. Er ist Mitglied der CDU und übte dort verschiedene Funktionen auf Kreis-, Bezirks- und Landesebene aus. Peter Bechstein hat Rechtswissenschaft und Betriebswirtschaftslehre in Tübingen und Freiburg im Breisgau studiert.

VCard

Michael Donnermeyer

Mitglied des Vorstands

  • Profil ansehen

Michael Donnermeyer

Mitglied des Vorstands

Michael Donnermeyer ist Mitglied des Vorstands und seit 2015 vor allem für den Bereich Klima- und Energiepolitik im Berliner Büro von CONCILIUS zuständig. In der Politik sammelte er vielfältige Erfahrungen in der gesamten Bandbreite politischer Kommunikation. So verantwortete er in führender Position die Kommunikation in den Wahlkämpfen von Gerhard Schröder (1998), Klaus Wowereit (2001) und Peer Steinbrück (2013). Er führte die Pressestelle der SPD, leitete die Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit im Bundesbau- und Verkehrsministerium und war sechs Jahre als Regierungssprecher der Berliner Landesregierung für den Regierenden Bürgermeister Klaus Wowereit tätig. 2008 wechselte er in die Wirtschaft und befasst sich seither intensiv unter anderem mit Klima- und Energiepolitik.

VCard

Guntram Dopfer

Mitglied des Vorstands

  • Profil ansehen

Guntram Dopfer

Mitglied des Vorstands

Guntram Dopfer kam 2005 zunächst als Koordinator des Vorstandsbereichs zur CONCILIUS AG, seit 2009 gehört er dem Vorstand an. Neben seiner Aufgabe als Key Account Manager verantwortet er im Vorstand die Bereiche Finanzen, Personal und Infrastruktur. Seine wichtigsten beruflichen Stationen waren die Tätigkeit als JU-Landesgeschäftsführer und Kommunikationsreferent in der CSU-Parteizentrale sowie anschließend die Gründung eines Beratungsunternehmens, mit dem er von 2001 bis 2005 an zahlreichen politischen Wahlkämpfen, Kampagnen und Marketingstrategien mitwirkte. Als langjähriges Mitglied der JU und der CSU übte Guntram Dopfer verschiedene Ehrenämter aus, darunter für viele Jahre den stellvertretenden Landesvorsitz der Jungen Union Bayern.

VCard

Sara-Rose Röthel

Partner & Mitglied des Vorstands

  • Profil ansehen

Sara-Rose Röthel

Partner & Mitglied des Vorstands

Sara-Rose Röthel ist seit 2006 bei CONCILIUS tätig, seit 2017 als Mitglied des Vorstands. Als Key Account Managerin liegt ihr besonderer Schwerpunkt auf der Bearbeitung von Chancen und Risiken im Bereich Rechtsetzung & Regulation, sowie der Begleitung von (Technologie-)Unternehmen, die entweder ein innovatives Geschäftsmodell umsetzen oder gänzlich neu in den deutschen Markt eintreten möchten. Dies betrifft insbesondere auch Mandate aus dem Verkehrs- und Mobilitätsbereich, zu denen auch einige der bekanntesten und disruptivsten Unternehmen zählen. Im Ehrenamt ist sie unter anderem als Beisitzerin im Vorstand des Bundesverbands Deutsche Startups e.V. tätig. Sara-Rose Röthel hat Politikwissenschaften an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München studiert.

VCard

Markus Russ

Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung
Partner & CEO der CONCILIUS Europe sprl.

  • Profil ansehen

Markus Russ

Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung|Partner & CEO der CONCILIUS Europe sprl.

Markus Russ ist seit 2009 Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung der CONCILIUS AG und seit 2012 Partner und CEO der CONCILIUS Europe sprl. Bis 2009 war Markus Russ Leiter der Verbindungsstelle Brüssel der Hanns-Seidel-Stiftung. Seit 2007 engagiert er sich als EU Representative der Times Media GmbH. Er ist zudem Senior Advisor der AmCham Germany (seit 2012) und Beiratsvorsitzender des Internationalen Wirtschaftssenats e.V. (seit 2014). Nach seiner Ausbildung zum Offizier der Bundeswehr studierte Markus Russ Staats- und Sozialwissenschaften an der Bundeswehruniversität in München und später „Managementreferent“ an der AKW Wirtschaftsakademie in Bad Harzburg. Im Laufe seiner beruflichen Karriere bei der Bundeswehr war er unter anderem Jugend- und Presseoffizier des Wehrbereichskommandos und Leiter der Dienststelle in Nürnberg.

VCard

Brigitte von den Steinen

Mitglied des Vorstands

  • Profil ansehen

Brigitte von den Steinen

Mitglied des Vorstands

Brigitte von den Steinen wechselte 2008 zu CONCILIUS, nachdem sie Geschäftsführerin eines mittelständischen Beratungsunternehmens war. Seitdem liegen ihre Tätigkeitsschwerpunkte in der Außen-, Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik. Brigitte von den Steinen ist gelernte Industriekauffrau und hat über den 2. Bildungsweg Politikwissenschaften in Bonn studiert. Nach ihrer Tätigkeit beim Bundesminister für Wirtschaft – zuletzt im Ministerbüro – hat sie für verschiedene Mitglieder des Deutschen Bundestags als Büroleiterin im Finanz-, Haushalts- und Verteidigungsausschuss gearbeitet.

VCard

Welche Werte vertritt CONCILIUS?

Qualität und Compliance

Die Vertretung von Interessen gegenüber der Politik ist Bestandteil demokratischer Prozesse. In der Ausübung ihres Berufes respektieren und befördern die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der CONCILIUS AG die Grundsätze des internationalen Rechts und die Vorgaben der nationalen Gesetzgebung, insbesondere die Grundsätze der Freiheit der Meinungsäußerung, des Rechts auf Information, der Unabhängigkeit der Medien und des Schutzes der Persönlichkeitsrechte.

Integrität, die Einhaltung der demokratischen Spielregeln, die Achtung der demokratischen Grundordnung und der Gewaltenteilung sowie der Unabhängigkeit der Justiz bilden die Voraussetzung für jede seriöse Interessenvertretung.

 

Verhaltenskodex

Unsere Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter garantieren die Einhaltung insbesondere folgender Grundsätze:

  • Wahrhaftigkeit
  • Vertraulichkeit und Diskretion
  • Keine Einflussnahme durch finanzielle Anreize
  • Keine Diskriminierung
  • Respekt im Umgang mit Mandanten und Kollegen
  • Klare Trennung zwischen beruflicher Tätigkeit und politischen Ämtern, Funktionen etc.

CONCILIUS ist Mitglied der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Politikberatung e.V. (de'ge'pol), des Zusammenschlusses der Politikberaterinnen und Politikberater in Deutschland. In diesem Rahmen hat sich jede Mitarbeiterin und jeder Mitarbeiter von CONCILIUS persönlich verpflichtet, den Verhaltenskodex der de'ge'pol zu befolgen. Das vollständige Dokument finden Sie hier:

Verhaltenskodex

Qualitätssicherung

Gegenüber unseren Mandanten sehen wir uns in der Verantwortung, sowohl die Qualität unserer Dienstleistung als auch die fachliche Kompetenz unserer Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter sicherzustellen und stetig weiterzuentwickeln.

Wir legen dabei besonderen Wert auf die:

  • Politische Expertise und kommunikative Kompetenz
  • Lösungskompetenz als Bedingung der Auftragsannahme
  • Unabhängigkeit, Neutralität und Integrität
  • Prozessorientierung und -optimierung
  • Planung und Projektorientierung
  • Information und Dokumentation
  • Sorgfalt bei der Auftragsübernahme

Den vollständigen Kriterienkatalog zur Qualitätskontrolle der de'ge'pol finden Sie hier:

Kriterienkatalog

100

Jahre lobbyistische
Erfahrung im Führungsteam

Expertenteams für

15

Branchen

2000

Abgeschlossene
Projekte